Please speak louder, I can’t hear you!

I ran to Walgreens today to pick up a prescription and I found Junior Mints on sale. A big box of them for $0.69! AWESOMENESS!

So I picked up 10. Yeah, that’s right TEN.
I’m trying to quit smoking, plus I have kids who want everything I have so, yeah, 10.
Anyway, I’m at the check out and I felt the need to explain my large purchase. So, I told the guy “I’m quitting smoking, can ya tell”? I gave a little laugh to show that I can see the humor in this and was surprised when he said “from this? No”.
Hmmmmm, ok, no sense of humor.
As he begins ringing everything up he starts teliing me about a friend of his who quit. He said I should try doing it the way his friend did….. cutting down week by week. I explained that I went cold turkey, and he said that was great if I could do it like that. Way to motivate me, dude!
As I’m picking up my bags to leave he, VERY LOUDLY, tells me that “CIGARETTES AND CHOCOLATE AREN’T THE BEST COMBINATION”. As I turned around and realized that the entire line was staring at me I couldn’t think of anything to say so I just ducked out the door. But I’m sitting here thinking “what the heck”? Did he not hear me? I said I’m quitting. So there is no combo! It’s just chocolate!
So, that was my embarrassing moment of the day.
And for my “I’m feeling old” moment of the day. We had freshman orientation for my oldest son at the high school tonight. It feels like just yesterday that I was in high school, it’s so weird to have a kid getting ready to go.
Well, I’m going to go play some Dance Central with the kids to work off the Junior Mints that I have eaten so many of…. maybe the pharmacist was right. Ughhhh.
4 thoughts on “Please speak louder, I can’t hear you!

  1. >If eating helps you I say go for it! Don't worry about ways other people quit. If you want to do it cold turkey you can! You will be fine! I bet it is weird having a son that is about to enter HS. I am just 19 but it feels so weird for me to go to HS games and see the younger kids playing in the games, and dressed up like they are grown ups! hahaI am an old soul!

  2. >I would have been so annoyed with that guy. He probably just hates his job and his life. It definitely can put a damper on your day though dealing with unfriendly people. And about feeling old…In my head I always see myself as a naive and young 22 year old (and I am NOT 22). I always feel like people see me as young…but in reality I think they see me for what I am–an almost 30 year old with graying hair and wrinkles and all. It's weird how we can feel and see ourselves as younger than we are. I think I'll always feel like the awkward 22 year old. Plus age is just a number. I think you look too young to have a high schooler 😉

  3. >I would have been so annoyed with that guy. He probably just hates his job and his life. It definitely can put a damper on your day though dealing with unfriendly people. And about feeling old…In my head I always see myself as a naive and young 22 year old (and I am NOT 22). I always feel like people see me as young…but in reality I think they see me for what I am–an almost 30 year old with graying hair and wrinkles and all. It's weird how we can feel and see ourselves as younger than we are. I think I'll always feel like the awkward 22 year old. Plus age is just a number. I think you look too young to have a high schooler 😉

Leave a Reply

